Welsh National Opera

Crossing Borders WNO Orchestra

An inspiring journey through the rich musical tapestry of Central Europe.

Take a seat and join WNO Orchestra and WNO Music Director Tomáš Hanus as they embark on an exhilarating journey through some of Central Europe’s finest masterpiece, opening with the triumphant Overture from Smetana’s The Bartered Bride. Celebrating the nationalistic pride he kindled in Czechia during the 19th century, this piece is fizzing with energy and rhythmic folk flavouring.

You’ll then  travel West to Germany and be captivated by the richness of the greatest German Violin Concerto of all time, Beethoven’s Violin Concerto.

Bringing the expedition to a close, an immersive encounter with the world of high German Romanticism. Schumann’s Symphony No 4 is one continuous drama with brooding phrases and accumulating energy, infused with the famous ‘Clara Theme’, in honour of his wife.


Posted on

2nd June 2024

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *