Sacconi Quartet, Solem Quartet and Tom Poster

Sacconi Quartet, Solem Quartet and Tom Poster

Tuesday 25th July 2017
8:00 pm - 9:45 pm

Aberystwyth Arts Centre
Aberystwyth SY23 3DE

Sacconi Quartet, Solem Quartet and Tom Poster

Haydn String Quartet Op 76 No 5
Dvorak Piano Quintet Op 81
Mendelssohn Octet Op 20

Three masterpieces of the chamber music repertoire will be heard in this concert.  Haydn is generally considered the father of the classical string quartet and his opus 76 set of quartets, completed in 1797, was his last complete set. The quartets in this set push the form firmly in the direction that Beethoven would later take, and represent the peak of Haydn’s chamber music.

Solem QuartetDvořák was at the height of his composing powers when he wrote his Piano Quintet opus 81. It received its first performance in Prague on January 6, 1888 and its high-spirited lyricism and attractive melodies made it an instant success.

In contrast with the Haydn quartet, written by a 65-year old composer with a lifetime of achievement behind him, Mendelssohn’ octet was written when the composer was only 16.  This strikingly original work is widely regarded as one of the finest works produced by any composer at such a young age, Mozart not excluded.

Musicfest’s resident ensemble, the Solem Quartet, will be joined by Tom Poster for the Dvořák quintet and by the Sacconi Quartet for the Mendelssohn octet.  Tom Poster needs no introduction to Musicfest audiences. His longstanding support for Musicfest is greatly appreciated: as well

Tom Poster

as performing in Musicfest every year, he regularly gives fund-raising concerts for the Friends of Musicfest. Outside of Aberystwyth, he is internationally recognised as a pianist of outstanding artistry and versatility and has given solo recitals, concerto performances and chamber music concerts across Europe and North America.  The Sacconi Quartet was formed in 2001, and its four founder members continue to demonstrate a shared passion for string quartet repertoire, infectiously reaching out to audiences with their energy and enthusiasm. The Quartet has enjoyed a highly successful international career, performing regularly throughout Europe, at London’s major venues, in recordings and on radio broadcasts.

Great Hall
£18 (£16)

Gold Pass £140 (before 1st July only) includes tickets for all concerts and recitals and a souvenir programmefull cost of tickets £241.

Aberystwyth Arts Centre Box Office 01970 623232



Date(s) - Tuesday 25th July 2017
8:00 pm - 9:45 pm